Solo Sauce-a-palooza is much less fun

The Canapalooza teammates finished the canning tomato festivities yesterday after I had to leave earlier. We each ended up with 12 jars of tomatoes (some pints, some quarts). Two and half peach boxes full of tomatoes were used for that. The extra half box was left with our very gracious host to use for sauce. The fourth box that never even made it there from my house was needing to be processed in some fashion.

So, here it is 12:42 am and I’m waiting for sauce to finish simmering. It better be good! It was much more fun to do this with friends!!!  And, they also kindly did my least favorite part for most of the gathering.

I still have a pile of Romas at the bottom of the box that I’m going to try with another recipe from our honorary Canapalooza teammate who provided the four boxes of tomatoes and her expertise!

Simple Marinara Sauce – modified ever so slightly from Jillian Michaels Master Your Metabolism Cookbook
3 T olive oil
2 C finely chopped red onion
5-6 garlic cloves, finely chopped (I may have overdone this…)
2 fresh or dried bay leaf
6 oz can organic tomato paste
8-9 cups of chopped tomatoes, slightly crushed with a potato masher before adding each cup
2 tsp dried parsley
1 1/2 T fresh oregano, chopped
2 T chopped fresh basil
2 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Add the olive oil to a large pot and heat over medium low. Add garlic, onions and bay leaf. Cook until softened and just starting to brown. Jillian says 6-8 minutes. I was impatient I guess, it was about 5 minutes.

Move the onions and garlic to the side and add the tomato paste. Allow to heat for a minute or two the blend with the onion/garlic mixture and cook for a few more minutes until the tomato paste turns a slightly darker red.

Add the chopped tomatoes. I crushed each cup first with a potato masher since I was using fresh tomatoes. Add in the remaining ingredients. Increase temperature to medium or a bit higher. Bring to a boil. Then, reduce heat and simmer 15-20 minutes.

If you want a less chunky sauce (for instance, if your kids won’t eat chunks of tomatoes in sauce…), then blend in a blender briefly. Allow sauce to cool. Transfer to refrigerator for up to four days or freeze for up to 6 months.

Here is the recipe for the Roasted Pizza Sauce that I’m trying tomorrow with the remaining tomatoes. Had I been organized I would have had that all in the oven WHILE I was doing all the rest of these, but I didn’t think of that until just now. So, tomorrow I’ll have them in the oven while we’re making pickles.

Roasted Pizza Sauce
from Marcelina’s via her sister-in-law, Sue
4lbs. chunked roma tomatoes (8 cups)
1 C chopped yellow onion
4 cloves chopped garlic
2 tsp salt
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp sugar
1 C olive oil
Combine all in a very large bowl and toss together. Pour onto a large baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Remove from oven and remove tomato skins if you like.  Add ½ C chopped basil and mash all together.  Spread on pizza crust. Enjoy!

And now that I’m done with this post it’s 1:28am. Time for rest!!!

Leave a Reply

