Giving Thanks

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow. – Melody Beattie

Try as I might, I’m never caught up with all the thank you notes I would like to have sent out, and for that I’m actually a little bit grateful. Seem odd? We’re so fortunate to be blessed by the presence of great people in our lives who are always sharing of themselves, and I feel like I can never keep up with the notes of gratitude. So not only am I grateful for all that our family has been blessed with and by, I am grateful for the presence of such incredible people in our lives! What a gift to have too many thank you notes to keep up! (Guess it’s time for me to start spending some quality time with Jimmy Fallon every Friday night!)

I’m grateful each day to just be alive and kicking, to share each day with family and friends, to have the chance to laugh and smile together, yell and scream at one another, sit and just be next to each other, to dance and “down dog”, to talk and to listen and so much more. Our little family has already weathered many storms; we’re grateful for the gifts from those times as well as all the good. It makes us who we are and all of life’s experiences have given us opportunities to grow and to meet amazing new people.

Channeling my inner Marilla from Anne of Green Gables (and so many others who use this phrase), “My cup runneth over.” This Thanksgiving, I’m grateful for your friendship and support! Wishing you many blessings and a wonderful celebration with your family and friends.

 

Leave a Reply

