Recipe Roundup – Day 11 – From Our Thanksgiving Table

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving meal at my Grandma’s house today. There was so much to choose from and it was all delicious. Aside from missing out on dessert and stuffing, I really didn’t miss much by being gluten free today. So many great choices. Today, in lieu of spending time formatting a recipe, I’ll just provide a few links and some embedded in this post. Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving!

I took along this Brussel Sprouts recipe which used up the brussel sprouts from our CSA box. This is NOT a vegetable I have eaten very often, but these were pretty good! And, they reminded me of my Grandpa as I knew that brussel sprouts had been one of his favorite vegetables.

I also brought Roasted Fingerling potatoes. (Using up potatoes from our CSA delivery as well!)
I don’t have a fancy printable for this recipe, but it’s easy! Turn your oven on to 500 and place your pan in the oven. Meanwhile, put 2 pints of fingerling potatoes, 1 tsp rosemary (dried), 1 1/2 tsp sage (dried), and 1 1/2 tsp thyme (dried) in a bowl. Drizzle with 3 T of olive oil and stir. Remove the pan from the oven and pour the potatoes on it. Season with salt and pepper. Place back in the oven and decrease the temperature to 425. Roast for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are beginning to brown, are crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. Watch them. Test for tenderness and leave in longer, if necessary.

I also attempted a Flourless Chocolate Cake, but that didn’t turn out so well so I won’t bother sharing the recipe!

If you are interested in something that continues the Thanksgiving pumpkin flavor theme, I give you a recipe from my friend Amy, complete with her comments in italics : (I’ll put it in a printable form soon 😉

Pumpkin Spice Syrup for homemade Pumpkin Lattes
1½ cups water
1½ cups sugar
4 cinnamon sticks
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
½ tsp. ground ginger
½ tsp. ground cloves
3 tbsp. pumpkin puree

Mix water and sugar over medium heat till sugar is fully dissolved. Toss in spices and pumpkin and cook for 5 minutes without letting it boil. (OK- sometimes I forget and it boils, it’s still fine.)  Let sit and cool for 10-15 minutes (or until you remember) and strain through a mesh colander or cheesecloth.  Store in the fridge.

AND, if you really need a way to use up extra leftover turkey, check out Recipe Girl’s ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

