Recipe Roundup – Day 12 – Squash that…

It’s been a busy day here… and now I would love to get to bed, BUT, there is work to be done yet. And what am I doing? Posting on the blog. Really. Productive. Maybe if I were one of those bloggers aspiring for a book deal or with a book deal or some sort of lucrative gig then this would be productive, but alas, I’m not. I’m just sharing recipes here, and the “productive” portion comes in me enjoying procrastinating on what I should be accomplishing 😉

That’s not to say I wasn’t productive today though. My make ahead loaded mashed potatoes (double-batch to feed 20 – that’s a lot of potatoes) are in the fridge and ready to take tomorrow. Thank goodness! While they’re tasty, there is a reason I only make these once or twice a year and I’m tired out of potatoes! The Crustless Pumpkin Cheesecake is cooling on the counter. (Which is another reason I can’t go to bed yet, it needs to cool before going in the fridge.) Aside from Zumba classes and picking out our Christmas tree at the Evergreen Ranch (and clearing some space in our house for it to go and taking down the Thanksgiving decor on the mantel), I’ve spent most of the day in the kitchen and we’re not even hosting this meal. We did take a required “family-time” break to watch Cars 2 though!

While in our kitchen today, I keep looking at the “pile-o-squash” that are on my counter. For the next few weeks, we’ll be eating at least one squash recipe a week. Today’s recipe is for the exchange booklet might be an option. It’s from Heather (via Guy Fieri on Food Network).

Enjoy this printable:
Acorn Squash Soup

LOTS of CSA potoates for Loaded Mashed Potatoes...

This IS THE secret to smooth mashed potatoes: a potato ricer. It's like a playdough contraption for adults. It's fun for about 2 minutes. After putting enough potatoes through this thing to feed 20 people, it loses its "fun" factor. BUT, it makes them smooth and perfect!

 

Leave a Reply

